1. Home
  2. Who We Are & What We Do

Who We Are & What We Do

About NewSpace New Mexico

NewSpace New Mexico is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit that is accelerating the pace of space innovation by uniting and igniting the industry. Through Unite & Ignite Space, a first-of-its-kind co-innovation hub, stakeholders gain access to workspaces, equipment, programming, rapid prototyping and demonstration, and resources needed for innovation and rapid progress. Services include access to space ecosystem knowledge, public events, and networking; navigation services that provide tailored guidance and direct assistance to fast-track business growth; and collaborative innovation services that ignite product and solution development.  

Founding partners include the State of New Mexico, Virgin Galactic, the Air Force Research Laboratory, the U.S. Space Force Space Rapid Capabilities Office, among others.

Our Mission

Foster an entrepreneurial, business-focused commercial space ecosystem in New Mexico by making connections, advocating for stakeholders, and preparing for the future. 

Our Vision

Make New Mexico the first choice for the newspace industry.

Our Team

NewSpace New Mexico Board of Directors

NewSpace New Mexico Industry Forum

NewSpace New Mexico Advisory Board

Founding Partners

Ignitor Expert Network

Our Team

NewSpace New Mexico Team

Casey Anglada DeRaad

Casey Anglada DeRaad

NewSpace New Mexico Founder, Chief Executive Officer

Casey is an energetic builder of partnerships and growth strategies to help all stakeholders succeed. She has over 30 years of leadership experience in space technology, business development, investment leveraging, technology engagement/transfer, strategic planning, workforce development, and portfolio investment.  Casey is a 10th generation New Mexican who has promoted opportunities for New Mexico students and industries for her entire career.

Arial DeHerrera

NewSpace New Mexico, Director of Engagement

Scott Maethner

Scott Maethner

NewSpace New Mexico, Strategy & Integration

Scott is a results-oriented leader who helps people and organizations reach their full potential.  He has over 28 years of leadership experience in the areas of science & technology, space research & operations, program management, strategy & policy development, strategic planning, studies & analysis, corporate communications, sales, marketing and talent acquisition.Scott has been an Albuquerque resident for over 12 years and advocates for New Mexico’s economic development and growth.

NewSpace New Mexico Consultants

Erika Hecht

Marketing Strategy & Communications

calol welch photo

Carol Welch

CRC, Space Stakeholder Engagement


Joe Pomo / Interns

UNM, U&I Space Launchpad

NewSpace New Mexico
Board of Directors

Joe Sciabica


CTO and VP/GM for Technology Solutions, ARCTOS

Jill Halverson

Former Field Representative, US Senator Bingaman

Donna Siergiej


Director, Medical Physics, UNM Cancer Center

Gary King

Former NM Attorney General

Barbara Brazil

Former Deputy Secretary, NM Economic Development Department
Hank Andrews Profile Photo

Hank Andrews

NewSpace New Mexico
Industry Forum

The NewSpace New Mexico Industry Forum is led and attended by representatives from New Mexico space companies with the goal of supporting the needs of the NM space industry.

Joe Bullington Photo

Joe Bullington


Director, Mission Services Dept at Jacobs Technology

Patricia Knighten


Director, Innovation Commercialization

Carol Welsch


Senior Director, Strategy and Business Development, Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems

NewSpace New Mexico
Advisory Board

Members of the NewSpace New Mexico Advisory Board represent New Mexico space leaders from industry, academia, government and the community.

Joe Sciabica


CTO and VP/GM for Technology Solutions, ARCTOS

Peter Wegner


CTO, Spaceflight Industries

Brad Clevenger


President, SolAero Technologies
Rob Black Photo

Rob Black

New Mexico Chamber of Commerce

Tom Cooley

Space Force

Severin Blenkush

Space Rapid Capabilities Office (representing Mike Roberts, Space RCO)

Kitty Luce

Director of Business Development, Northrop Grumman

Day Hochman-Vigil

NM Rep, Aerospace Caucus

Neil McCasland

Ret Gen, Blue Halo and Former AFRL

Jason Lazich

Virgin Galactic

Doug Brown

UNM Board of Regents

Eric Sanchez

Brig Gen (retired) Physical Sciences Laboratory (NMSU)

Harold Lavender

NM State Investment Fund, ABQid

Dale Dekker

DPS and Ambassadors for Spaceport America

Dan Schatzman

Dan Schatzman

President Jaguar Precision and Partner, Space Fund

Joe Bullington Photo

Joe Bullington

Jacobs – also leads Industry Forum

Patricia Photo

Patricia Knighten

Arrowhead – also leads Industry Forum

Scott McLaughlin

Spaceport America

Michael Robson

Raven Defense, current PACA president

Founding Partners